Please consider registering
Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
Register Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
Dan Wesson 715 release not opening after cleaning
gabrieltss
Members
Forum Posts: 9
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
September 4, 2017 - 5:23 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Disclaimer: Ok so I'm new to owning a revolver - all my other pistols are semi-autos.

I started to clean my new/used Dan Wesson 715. I undid the allen screw on the release, took it apart and cleaned all the gunk build up in it from previous owner. I put it back together just like it looked when I took it apart (put spring in in shape of "U" etc... I put the allen screw back in and when I closed up, now I can't open it. The release goes down but the cylinder won't come out now. It's like the release isn't going all the way down for it to let it open. It almost looks like the allen screw may have gone in to far. I am putting the small end of the allen wrench into the where the screw is but it is like I turn it so far and it won't turn anymore. When I reverse direction it loosens then at one point it's like it won't turn anymore. See picture below (not best I know). So am I totally screwed or what? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Stuck-Cylender.jpgImage Enlarger

Also, not sure what is best to clean the "stains" as I would call them on the outside. I tried using my Hoppes #9 solvent but that didn't do anything. It worked great on cleaning all the gunk build up on the other parts. 🙂

Thanks,

snake-eye
Fort Myers, Florida
Members

Dans Club
Forum Posts: 1921
September 4, 2017 - 5:44 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Gabriel, If your latch actually does go down when you press with your thumb, then your problem may be technique rather than mechanical.