Please consider registering
Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
Register Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
Problem With .357 (New to Revolvers & Dan Wesson)
nyram
New York
Members
Forum Posts: 12
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
March 4, 2011 - 11:10 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hello,

I would like to say Hello to everyone Here. I am new to revolvers and Dan Wesson. I have always shot rifle and semi auto pistol. I just picked up a used DW 15-2 HV in stainless. 6" Barrel.

Went to range last night with it. It fires fine when using single action. However when using double action it looks like it is light striking about 2 out of 6 times.

If i then go back to those rounds that failed to fire and try to fire them using single action they will actually fire without a problem.

I removed the cover at the range last night to do a quick visual inspection. The gun is very clean and there was no buildup or crud that i could see. could it just be weak springs causing the issue?? I tried a variety of ammo from different manufacturers and also 38 special and 357. Problem occured with all variations of ammo.

I also noticed that the firing pin is a little shorter than that on my friends revolver. not a huge difference but noticeable by just looking at it. Could the firing pin be worn??

All strikes were in the center.

Just looking for some recommendations or some guidance. I was wondering if i should order the small parts kit and swap everything out. Also does anyone know where i can see that step by step tutorial for tuning of the firearm. the link i saw on other pages just brought me back to the main forum page.

thanks in advance for any help.

Greg

lbruce
Georgia
Members

DWF Supporters

Dans Club

Moderators
Forum Posts: 3569
March 4, 2011 - 11:30 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print