Please consider registering
Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
Register Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
Tightgroup and 148 gr. wadcutters CFE and 124 gr Rnose
shooter 715
North Texas
Members
Forum Posts: 38
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
August 14, 2015 - 7:07 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Another successful day at the range.  200 lite loads down the 715 tube with some really good groups at 25 yards.  Of course I cheated and used my Burris scope!!!   I'm not a big bang/fire out the ports kinda guy.  I like to load em a little less than 1/2 of Hodgdon's  recipes.  

If you looking for a soft/accurate load for the kids or mom let me suggest 2 that I have been reloading for a couple of years.  

.357 - 2.9 gr Tightgroup/CCI 550/148 gr wadcutter.  I have used Berry's and Xtreme with great results from both. 

.38 special - again 2.9 gr Tightgroup/CCI 500/148 gr. wadcutter.  This one of course has just a little more umph but hardly noticeable.

Have run these 2 loads thru DW715/Ruger Security Six/Tau.669 without any problems...

Also been using CFE pistol for my CZ75 and Moravian Arms G2000 since no Win231 has set foot in Dallas(that I know of) in almost a year. And I have looked high and low.

4.8 gr. CFE/CCI 500/124 gr  Xtreme Roundnose produces loads that are easy on the wrist and mom friendly as well.  

Never had any issues with this one either.... 

Saddle Sore in Plano, Texas

rwsem
SOWELA (Southwest Louisiana)

Supporter
Members

Moderators

Dans Club
Forum Posts: 5308
August 14, 2015 - 7:39 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Be very careful with light loads ( "I like to load em a little less than 1/2 of Hodgdon’s  recipes").  You are risking cartridge detonation!  When I reduce loads, I use a filler (COW) to reduce the risk of blowing up my firearm.  Goggle reduced loads and detonation to read plenty on the subject.  Be Safe!  Ron