Please consider registering
Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
Register Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
V-bob doesn't lock back
raganzel
Members
Forum Posts: 7
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
January 7, 2021 - 4:00 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie to the 1911 world, but have many years hunting and shooting as a youngster (72 years old now). The year 2020 brought me to the decision to arm myself for many various reasons. I've always been intrigued by the 1911 as my high school friend's father was a police officer and he had access to a 1911 which we shot back then.

After many hours of youtube viewing looking at revolvers, striker fired pistols, and 1911's, I decided on a 1911. Then many more hours viewing 1911 videos to make a decision on which manufacturer and model to purchase. I decided on a Dan Wesson 9mm v-bob with the thought my small wife could handle 9mm easier than 45 acp if she needed to use it.

I purchased a duty finished, NIB 2017 from gunbroker.com. I ran 400 rounds of ammo in three shooting sessions with no problems what so ever. Then I decided to purchase a couple more magazines for it and knowing that Checkmate made DW's magazines I purchased a couple extra Checkmate's and went out for another round of shooting to see how they worked. After emptying the magazine (it wasn't full capacity because of the stiff springs), the gun failed to lock back. I put in a stock DW mag, and it did the same thing. I tried the other DW mag with the same issue. I've broken down and cleaned the gun after every use and am running it wet.

2 months have gone by since my last time out and today I went to the range with my CC instructor to take the shooting test. It failed to lock back twice using the stock DW mags, then locked back on the next round. After that another fail, then another normal lock back, then another fail.