Please consider registering
Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
Register Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
Full Auto
jaykelley
Members
Forum Posts: 44
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
October 4, 2021 - 4:33 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi, I am new to DW. Usually shoot IDPA using Glocks or SA 1911s, all 9mm. Decided to move up and bought a new Guardian just 2 months ago. I love it. Absolutely the best pistol I have ever owned. Craftmanship is awesome and accuracy out of the box far better than my abilities.

However at Saturday's match it went full auto on me. 600 rounds to date, no mods other than grip panels. Loaded to 9 in a Chip McCormick 10 round mag with one in the chamber. I double tapped a close target. 8 rounds fired before I could let go of the trigger. Fired 9 and 10 at another target, reloaded and attempted another double tap - a 5 to 6 round burst was the result. Unload and show clear.

I called service this morning and they suggested I fill out the form on the web site as the fastest method to get the warranty repair effort started. I did that and I am sure they will follow up but I just wondered if anyone else has experienced something like this? I'm guessing there is a problem in the sear / hammer area but have never seen this happen before and have no real idea what could have caused this. Any thoughts? 

Thanks - Jay   

605Dart
SW PA

DWF Supporters
Forum Posts: 977
October 4, 2021 - 6:41 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Wow that will get your attention real quick! Sear/hammer misalignment, broken sear or spring?????? Please let us know what it was when DW does the service on it. I have about 8k on mine and nothing but one stovepipe and a FTRB and that was all.

jaykelley
Members
October 4, 2021 - 7:38 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print